

The 1st edition of the Educational Technologies (ICEduTech) International Conference was hosted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, during 29 November to 1 December, 2013.

This conference was organized by the International Association for Development of the Information Society (IADIS) and co-organized by the Faculty of Computer Science & Information Technology, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. This event was also co-sponsored by Curtin University, Curtin Business School, Australia.

Co-organized by:



Co-sponsored by:



ICEduTech tried to address the real topics as seen by teachers, students, parents and school leaders. Scientists, professionals and institutional leaders were invited to be informed by experts, sharpen the understanding what education needs and how to achieve it. The broad areas of interest were: Education in Context, Education as Professional Field, Curricular Evolution, Learner Orientation, Integrating Educational Technologies and International Higher Education.



The International Conference on Educational Technologies 2013 had 76 submissions from more than 22 countries. Each submission was anonymously reviewed by an average of four independent reviewers, to guarantee the final high standard of the accepted submissions. Out of the papers submitted, 13 received blind referee ratings that signified acceptability for publication as full papers (acceptance rate below 17%), while some others were published as short papers, reflection papers and posters /demonstrations.

The Conference Program featured an opening and closing sessions, 6 parallel paper sessions, 2 Keynote Presentations, a Poster session and a Corporate Showcase. The keynote presentations were given by Prof. Piet Kommers, University of Twente, The Netherlands and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sakina Baharom, Director of Centre for Learning Innovation and Excellence (CLIEx), UNITAR International University, Malaysia.



Keynote Presentation:

"LEARNING IN THE NETWORKED SOCIETY"



by Professor Piet Kommers, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Keynote Presentation:

"STUDENT-CENTRED LEARNING ENVIRONMENT FOR HE DIGITAL LEARNERS"

by Assoc.Prof. Dr. Sakina Baharom, Director of Centre for Learning Innovation and Excellence (CLIEx), UNITAR International University, Malaysia

The Educational Technologies 2013 proceedings were published both in Book (ISBN: 978-972-8939-99-1) and Soft Copy (978-989-8704-01-06) by IADIS Press.



Program Committee Members:

Agoritsa Gogoulou, University Of Athens, Greece

Alexander Vaninsky, City University Of New York, Usa

Ali Simsek, Anadolu University, Turkey

Andreea Bobei Sterian, Bucharest Polytechnical University, Romania

Andrew Proctor, University Of Arkansas, USA

Andrew Van Der Byl, University Of Cape Town, South Africa

Andrzej Sokolowski, Cracow University Of Economics, Poland

Angela Murphy, University Of Southern Queensland, Australia

Annamalai Chockalingam, University Sains, Malaysia

Annette Deschner, Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe, Germany

Arnold Magdelaine, Education & Research Dpt - Ehesp , France

Augustin Prodan, Iuliu Hatieganu University, Romania

Beatrice Pudelko, Téluq-université Du Québec, Canada

Carla Van De Sande, Arizona State University, Usa

Chien-hsing Wang, National Changhua University Of Education, Taiwan

Chris Garbett , Leeds Metropolitan University, United Kingdom

Christa Tigerstedt, Arcada, Finland

Christopher Wells, Gwinnett County Schools, Usa

Daniel Guhr, Illuminate Consulting Group, Canada

Donna Hurford, Sdu Universitetspedagogik, Denmark

Donna Russell, Capella University, Usa

Dor Abrahamson, University Of California, Berkeley, USA

Erich Herber, Donau University Krems, Austria

Evangelia Gouli, University Of The Aegean, Greece

Evdokia Karava, National And Kapodistrian University Of Athens, Greece

Francisco Garcia Novo, University of Seville, Spain

Gabriela Grosseck, West University Of Timisoara, Romania

Gabriela Prelipcean, University "stefan Cel Mare" Of Suceava, Romania

Gayle Calverley, The University of Manchester , United Kingdom

Gemma Tur Ferrer, Universitat De Les Illes Balears, Spain

Giovanni Fulantelli, Italian National Research Council - Institute For , Italy

Hans Jorgen Staugaard , University College Nordjylland, Denmark

Harrison Atagana, University Of South Africa, South Africa

Harun Sümbül, Karabük University, Turkey

Heide Lukosch, Delft University Of Technology, Netherlands

Helen Farley, University Of Southern Queensland, Australia

Holly Tootell, University Of Wollongong, Australia

Inger-marie Christensen, University Of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Irina Ion, Bucharest Academy Of Economic Studies, Romania

Iuliana Marchis, Babes Bolyai University, Romania

James Uhomoibhi, Ulster University, United Kingdom

Janerik Lundquist, Linkoping University, Sweden

Janine Rutledge, Curtin University, Australia

Jan-willem Strijbos, Ludwig-maximilians-university Munich, Germany

Jerzy Moscinski, Silesian University Of Technology, Poland

Jianhua Zhao, University Of South China Normal, China

Jiao Jianli, South China Normal University, China

Joerg Westbomke, Stuttgart Media University, Germany

Joerg Zumbach, University of Salzburg, Austria

Joergen Bang, Aarhus University, Denmark

John Clayton, Waikato Institute Of Technology, New Zealand

Jose Couto Marques, FEUP-DEC, Portugal

Judith Enriquez-Gibson, Liverpool John Moores University, UK

Juergen Buder, Knowledge Media Research Center, Germany

Julie-Ann Sime, Lancaster University, United Kingdom

Katarzyna Czabanowska, University Of Maastricht, Netherlands

Kent Lofgren, Umea University, Sweden

Kyparisia Papanikolaou, School Of Pedagogical And Technological Education,, Greece

Laura Marinas, Bucharest Academy Of Economic Studies, Romania

Lavinia Haiduc, Babes Bolyai University, Romania

Leonica Popescu, Romanian - American University of Bucharest, Romania

Lone Krogh, Aalborg University, Denmark

Lotte Latukefu, University Of Wollongong, Australia

Malinka Ivanova, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria

Manoj Saxena, Central University Of Himachal Pradesh, India

Manuel Ramiro Munoz, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Colombia

Mar Camacho, Universitat Rovira I Virgili, Spain

Maria Moundridou, School Of Pedagogical And Technological Education, Greece

Maria Tabuenca Cuevas, Universidad De Alicante, Spain

Maria Teresa Restivo, University Of Porto, Portugal

Mariana Nicolae, Academy Of Economic Studies, Romania

Merete Wiberg, Aarhus University, Denmark

Michael Vallance, Future University Hakodate, Japan

Myint Khine, Emirates College For Advanced Education, Bahrain

Niels Pinkwart, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin Germany

Panagiotis Panagakis, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece

Pasquina Campanella, University of Bari, Italy

Prashant Kumar, University Of Surrey, United Kingdom

Pruden Esteban, University Of Extremadura, Spain

Rhonda Riachi, It, United Kingdom

Robert Paul, University Of Toronto, Canada

Robin Chen, National Cheng Chi University, Taiwan

Ron Perrott, Oxford E-research Centre, United Kingdom

Roxana Marinescu, The Bucharest Academy Of Economic Studies, Romania

Scott A. Lathrop, University Of Illinois, Usa

Sharon Cox, Birmingham City University, United Kingdom

Simon Winberg, University Of Cape Town, South Africa

Steliana Toma, Technical University Of Civi Engineering Of Buch, Romania

Tharrenos Bratitsis, University Of Western Macedonia, Greece

Thrasyvoulos Tsiatsos, Aristotle University Of Thessaloniki, Greece

Truc Le, University Of Melbourne, Australia

Ulrika Bennerstedt, University Of Gothenburg, 0

Wayne Robinson, Creative Discovery Museum, Usa

Wenli Chen, National Institute Of Education, Singapore

Wojciech Grega, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

Wolfgang Greller, Open University, Netherlands

Xiang Ren, University Of Southern Queensland, Australia